About Help Definitions Submit Search Analyse Browse Home

Switch #:
Switch type:
Switch subtype:
Altered binding specificity

Dephosphorylation of Y201 of Cytotoxic T-lymphocyte protein 4 (Ctla4) switches the specificity of Ctla4 from SH2 domain-containing proteins like Tyrosine-protein phosphatase non-receptor type 11 (Ptpn11) to the AP-2 complex mu subunit (AP-2 complex subunit mu (Ap2m1)), thereby switching from inhibitory signal transmission and negative regulation of T cell responses to internalization and inactivation of Ctla4.

(1) Cytotoxic T-lymphocyte protein 4 (Ctla4)
(2) AP-2 complex subunit mu (Ap2m1)
(3) Tyrosine-protein phosphatase non-receptor type 11 (Ptpn11)


(1) Tyrosine phosphorylation controls internalization of CTLA-4 by regulating its interaction with clathrin-associated adaptor complex AP-2.
Shiratori et al. Immunity (1997)

See also

Other switches involving participants
AP-2 complex subunit mu (Ap2m1) - 2 more (view)
Tyrosine-protein phosphatase non-receptor type 11 (Ptpn11) - 2 more (view)

Other switches involving interfaces
LIG_SH2_STAT5 - 7 more (view)
SH2 domain - 140 more (view)
TRG_ENDOCYTIC_2 - 21 more (view)
Adaptor complexes medium subunit family - 21 more (view)

Loading visualisation

Please send any suggestions/comments to: switches@elm.eu.org